Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Care Ecology

remote viewing

life's current, pain's pleasure
1

21, can you do something for me? lmao—jk, but seriously, last week’s newsletter hit an all time high number of likes—happens to be the calendar day i was born. i paused requesting pledges, internalizing it as tacky. i now see folks need to be told to pay me. 🤑 562 subscribers deep, it feels time for a reintroduction. 24 of you pay me to write every week, and it is a salve.

care ecology is a free weekly newsletter though i encourage you to become a paid subscriber. my creative body of work is my only form of income. share this newsletter on social media, forward it to a loved one, or store it safely in your brainheart space. in this week’s newsletters, you will learn about the interweavings of my creative practices.

upgrade to paid

I am singing and writing in a band named after me as well as designing a farm spa for Activation Residency, an Upstate, NY artist residency pioneering healing justice programming for QTBIPOC artists and activists. I am the author of Care Manual: Dreaming Care into Being, a workbook on reworlding interpersonal care, and Care Ecology, a growing Substack community. 

Kamra performs @ The Delancey, "The Fan Girls Steam", March 2023

After my emotional collapse protesting George Floyds’ murder, I clicked into rest and pleasure as a means of protest and raised $250,000 on Instagram to make a land purchase and provide respite experiences for 50 artists and activists. Land back because we take care of our communities.

I looked at over a hundred parcels, learned about slope, perc tests1, meadow to forest ratio, wetlands, counties, towns, and their respective zoning regulations, AG district designation2, soil conditions, the politics of having conservative neighbors, and so much more. In 2021, I received my Permaculture Design Certification from the Center for Bioregional Living. In spring 2022, I stumbled upon 8 raw pastoral acres in Bethel, NY on Zillow and knew it was the spot. I spent months negotiating the deal and closed late summer 2022 thanks to my realtor, attorney, and friends.

Watch with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Care Ecology to watch this video and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

Care Ecology
Care Ecology
Authors
Kamra Sadia Abdul-Hakim